Oh, Canada...

Canadian Thanksgiving was last week.  American Thanksgiving is next month.  And for a certain small percentage of people in the world (who also read this blog) they will understand why my symbol might be the “My-Canada-Includes-Quebec-Free-Trade-Cactus”* 

For those who don’t, I’ll simply say that the Husband is Canadian, I went to school in Canada, and my amazing in-laws and college friends are all part of that noble tribe. I am course, am from the land that deep fries Twinkies and elects George W. Bush (and Obama…let’s not forget the big O).

 

I am NOT thankful for you. I would only be thankful if this turkey compromised your manhood. Permanently.

 

So, in honour (get that – it’s the Canadian spelling!) of the two Thanksgivings, I am giving a brief list of things I am thankful for this week.

1) I am thankful that the Husband pulled up his big-boy pants and dealt with the smell emanating from behind the fridge. I am even more thankful that I was nowhere near when he and our neighbor, acting as wingman, excavated a dead and maggoty mouse. Yes, you read that right.

2) I am thankful that the massive branch that just fell in our yard today missed the car and the shed and only did minimal damage to the fence.  Holy crap that was close!

3) I am thankful that I’ve come up with a first sentence (ok, first few sentences) for my next book and I am kind of in lovey love with them. So far.

4) I am thankful that I’ve started getting feedback from the triumvirate of amazingsauce beta readers who are plowing through 76k words of mermaid angst and finding some nice things to say.

5) I am thankful that I have friends that invite me to a Jerk-Off Thanksgiving (that would be a jerky competition…get your minds out of the gutter!) and that said friend would then ask me -“since you’re the writer” – to come up with Dirty Jerky Award names.  You just can’t buy flattery like that.

6) I am thankful that the same friend is making stuffing with bacon, apple, and caramelized onions. *goes to happy place*

So there it is!  My between-Thanksgivings thankful list!  What about you guys?  What are you thankful for today?  (Yes, you can still answer in November when American Thanksgiving rolls around).

*So you really wanted to know? Well, Quebec wants separate from Canada – seriously – and be its own country, but we would prefer to keep it, and all the beer and fromage found there, as part of the motherland, and of course free-trade…o.k., look, that’s what Wikipedia is for if you don’t already know!  As for the cactus…well, that would be telling, wouldn’t it?

 

One of my Canadian friend's single most favorite thing about this country...the pardoning of the turkey. Note that Malia does not look impressed.

 

 

