As someone who used to quote Simone de Beauvoir when the subject of marriage was raised, and who still corrects her daughter (“That’s not a lady, sweetie, it’s a woman!“), I was delighted to read Forever YA’s engaging response to the Ms. magazine article about feminism and YA literature.

Feminist YA: misogynist cheeseheads need not apply.

The Cliff Notes for the men among you (oooh, reverse sexism, harsh, I know); the magazine article (which I haven’t read yet) seems to discuss feminist icons in YA literature, and the blog post takes it one step further to identify some non-blushing-vampire-kissing/non-Capitol-slaying-attacking feminist heroes from some of our favorite books.  I won’t spoil it by telling them all, but…

 

Liesel from The Book Thief

 

Yes, it’s Liesel from The Book Thief (OMG OMG I LOVE IT SO MUCH)

 

 

And the ever-awesome Meg Murray from A Wrinkle in Time!

Anyway, point is, check out this list, which had several of my favorites but, more interestingly, several more I haven’t read yet, and for gods sakes go out and buy Ms. magazine.  And keep it on your coffee table for a while.  It’ll look great next to your US Weekly.

